Actions on Google

-> to BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

The term "Actions on Google" refers to a service developed by Google with the help of which developers can link self-developed services with the Google Assistant. Once the third-party service has been tested, approved and released for publishing by Google, it can be accessed on Google Assistant compatible devices. Actions on Google is therefore equivalent to Amazon Skills, but only Google Assistant capable devices can be used.

On which devices can an action be retrieved?

On the one hand, the published actions can be played via the smart loudspeakers developed by Google. Google Home and Google Home Mini will be retrieved. On the other hand, they are also available on Google Assistant compatible smartphones or tablets. Google uses Google Assistant to serve both Android and iOS devices. For devices using the Android operating system, the Google Assistant is fully integrated and can be activated by the user at any time. For iOS users, a separate Google Assistant app must be downloaded.

How can a published action be retrieved?

So that users can call the published action, the action must be stored within the Google Actions Developers Console so-called "Invocation Phrases". These are commands with which the user informs the Assistant to open a particular action. Up to 5 example sentences can be stored for the action. As an example, a call could look like this:

  • "Ok Google, talk to BOTfriends"

How can a published action be restricted? 

The developer of a Google Action has various options for restrictions when publishing his action. On the one hand, the languages in which the action should be available can be determined during publication (as of 21.06.2019: 19 compatible languages). On the other hand, device-specific restrictions can be set up. The following questions must be answered within the Google Actions Developer Console:

  • Does your action require audio output?
  • Does your action need a screen output?
  • Does your action require media playback?
  • Does your action require a web browser?

Depending on the answers to the questions, certain devices will be approved or excluded. For example, if it is selected that a screen output is indispensable, the action is automatically excluded for the Google Home and Google Home Mini and is therefore not available to the user on these devices. Within the Google Actions Developer Console, the devices included or imposed are displayed in tabular form immediately after the question has been answered.

How can a Google Action be developed?

Google itself describes two implementation possibilities. The first and simple variant is a direct integration via Google Dialogflow. After the conception and creation of a Voice Assistant within Dialogflow, it can be published without "developer know-how" directly via the Integration tab of Dialogflow. This is a plausible variant, especially if the Natural Language Understanding (NLU) service is Dialogflow. The Google Actions SDK provides developers with a further integration option. Here Google provides client libraries for creating Google Actions. These are available for different programming languages. This variant primarily makes sense if full control over the interaction between Google Action App and user is to be ensured on the server side. Furthermore, this variant is unavoidable if the NLU service relies on another technology such as Dialogflow.

 

> Back to the BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

Actions on Google

-> zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki

Unter dem Begriff “Actions on Google” versteht man einen von Google entwickelten Service, mit dessen Hilfe Entwickler selbst entwickelte Dienste mit dem Google Assistant verknüpfen können. Sobald der Drittanbieter Dienst von Google getestet, genehmigt und zur Publizierung freigegeben wurde, kann dieser auf Google Assistant kompatiblen Geräten abgerufen werden. Actions on Google ist demnach äquivalent zu Amazon Skills, allerdings können nur Google Assistant fähigen Geräte bedient werden.

Auf welchen Geräten kann eine Action abgerufen werden?

Einerseits können die publizierten Actions über die von Google entwickelten smarten Lautsprecher Google Home und Google Home Mini abrufen werden. Andererseits sind sie auch auf Google Assistant kompatiblen Smartphones oder Tablets verfügbar. Google bedient mit Google Assistant sowohl Android als auch iOS Devices. Bei Geräten, welche das Betriebssystem Android verwenden, ist der Google Assistant vollumfänglich integriert und kann jederzeit vom Benutzer aktiviert werden. Bei iOS Nutzern muss eine separat Google Assistant App heruntergeladen werden.

Wie kann eine publizierte Action abgerufen werden?

Damit Anwender die publizierte Action aufrufen können, müssen der Action innerhalb der Google Actions Developers Console sogenannte “Invocation Phrases” hinterlegt werden. Dies sind Befehle, mit welchen der Benutzer dem Assistant mitteilt, eine bestimmte Action zu öffnen. Der Action können hierbei bis zu 5 Beispielsätze hinterlegt werden. Exemplarisch könnte ein Aufruf wie folgt aussehen:

  • “Ok Google, mit BOTfriends sprechen”

Wie kann eine publizierte Action mit Restriktionen versehen werden? 

Der Entwickler einer Google Action verfügt bei der Veröffentlichung seiner Action über verschiedene Möglichkeiten für Restriktionen. Einerseits kann bei der Publizierung darüber bestimmt werden, in welchen Sprachen die Action verfügbar sein soll (Stand 21.06.2019: 19 kompatible Sprachen). Zum anderen können gerätespezifische Restriktionen eingerichtet werden. Hierzu müssen innerhalb der Google Actions Developer Console folgende Fragen beantwortet werden:

  • Benötigt Ihre Action eine Audioausgabe?
  • Benötigt Ihre Action eine Bildschirmausgabe?
  • Benötigt Ihre Action eine Medienwiedergabe?
  • Benötigt Ihre Action einen Webbrowser?

Je nach Beantwortung der Fragen, werden bestimmte Geräte zugelassen oder ausgeschlossen. Wird beispielsweise ausgewählt, dass eine Bildschirmausgabe unerlässlich ist, wird die Action automatisch für den Google Home und Google Home Mini ausgeschlossen und ist daher auf diesen Devices nicht für den Nutzer abrufbar. Innerhalb der Google Actions Developer Console wird sofort nach Beantwortung der Frage tabellarisch dargestellt, welche Geräte inkludiert bzw. ausgeschossen wurden.

Wie kann eine Google Action entwickelt werden?

Google selbst beschreibt zwei Implementierungsmöglichkeiten. Die erste und einfache Variante ist eine direkte Integration über Google Dialogflow. Nach der Konzeption und Erstellung eines Voice Assistants innerhalb von Dialogflow, kann dieser ohne “Entwickler Know-How” direkt über den Integration Reiter von Dialogflow publiziert werden. Dies ist vor allem dann eine plausible Variante, falls als Natural Language Understanding (NLU) Service sowieso Dialogflow im Einsatz ist. Eine weitere Integrationsmöglichkeit wird Entwicklern über das Google Actions SDK eingeräumt. Hier stellt Google Client-Libraries zur Erstellung von Google Actions zur Verfügung. Diese sind für verschiedene Programmiersprachen verfügbar. Diese Variante macht primär dann Sinn, falls serverseitig eine volle Kontrolle über die Interaktion zwischen Google Action App und User gewährleistet werden soll. Des Weiteren ist diese Variante unumgänglich, falls als NLU Service auf eine andere Technologie wie Dialogflow vertraut wird.

 

> Zurück zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki