Channel Connector

-> to BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

During the development of a chatbot application one often encounters problems with the handling of data formats of different channels. As soon as the application is to be accessible from several channels, it must bring the messages to a unique format. If this is not done, source code duplicates may occur.

Description of backend and channel connector architecture

A solution for this would be so-called Channel Connectors. They know the formats of several channels and convert the data of these channels to one format. The formatting does not have to be done by the Chatbot application anymore. An example of a connector is Smooch (the top connector in the figure). Smooch knows the data formats of the channels Slack, Facebook, WhatsApp, Telegram, Twitter and more, bundles them and brings them to a self-defined scheme. [1]

In order to illustrate the basic concept more clearly, the data formats of Facebook and Slack are compared with each other.

Facebook: [2]                               Slack: [3]

Facebook data format

Slack data format

 

It is noticeable that the message "This is a text message" can be reached differently in the Facebook dataset than in Slack's dataset. Therefore, algorithms must be written that map these formats to a common schema. With this the message can always be addressed in the same way. Channel Connectors take on this role and save money. Chatbot developers thus implementation effort.

> Back to the BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

Sources

[1] Smooch https://smooch.io/
[2] Facebook, Developer Docs https://developers.facebook.com/docs/
[3] Slack, Block Kit Builder https://api.slack.com/tools/block-kit-builder

Channel Connector

Bei der Entwicklung einer Chatbot Applikation stößt man oft auf die Problematik mit dem Umgang von Datenformaten verschiedener Channels. Sobald die Applikation von mehreren Channels aus erreichbar sein soll, muss diese die Nachrichten auf ein eindeutiges Format bringen. Wird dies nicht gemacht, so können Quellcode Duplikate auftreten.

Beschreibung der Architektur von Backend und Channel Connector

Eine Lösung hierfür wären sogenannte Channel Connectors. Diese kennen die Formate mehrerer Channels und bringen die Daten dieser auf ein Format. Die Formatierung muss demnach nicht mehr von der Chatbot Applikation übernommen werden. Ein Beispiel für einen Connector ist Smooch (in der Abbildung der oberste Connector). Smooch kennt die Datenformate der Channels Slack, Facebook, WhatsApp, Telegram, Twitter und mehr, bündelt diese und bringt sie auf ein selbst festgelegtes Schema. [1]

Um das grundlegende Konzept anschaulicher darzustellen, werden folgend die Datenformate von Facebook und Slack miteinander verglichen.

Facebook: [2]                               Slack: [3]

Facebook Datenformat

Slack Datenformat

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Es fällt auf, dass die Nachricht “Das ist eine Text Message” im Datensatz von Facebook anders zu erreichen ist, als beim Datensatz von Slack. Deshalb müssen Algorithmen geschrieben werden, welche diese Formate auf ein gemeinsames Schema abbilden. Mit diesem kann die Nachricht dann immer gleich angesprochen werden. Channel Connectors übernehmen diese Rolle und sparen Chatbot Entwicklern somit Implementierungsaufwand.

> Zurück zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki

Quellen

[1] Smooch https://smooch.io/
[2] Facebook, Developer Docs https://developers.facebook.com/docs/
[3] Slack, Block-Kit-Builder https://api.slack.com/tools/block-kit-builder