Conversational AI Platform

- to BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

Conversational AI Platforms, also known as Conversational Platform, Conversational Middleware, are software systems with the help of which you can chatbotsVirtual Assistants and Conversational User Interfaces for a wide variety of applications. Furthermore, they enable integration into chat interfaces such as messenger services, social media, SMS and chats on websites. A Conversational Platform usually has a developer interface (API) so that third parties can add their own customizations to the platform. [1]

The terms Conversational AI Platform and Conversational Platform are not clearly defined scientifically. Rather, they are services or platforms that use Natural Language Processing (NLP) as a basic technology and thus make various types of conversational interfaces realizable.

 

functional areas

In order to enable companies to develop and successfully operate chatbots and to constantly adapt them to the needs of users, a suitable Conversational Platform must cover many different functional areas. This is the processing of natural language, various integration possibilities and operation functionalities. A common architecture of the current Conversational Platforms is shown in the following figure. [1]

Conversational AI Platform

Source: Gartner - Market Guide for Conversational Platforms [1]

natural language processing

Currently, the Conversational AI Platform providers focus on the functional area NLP and thus on the interpretation and processing of natural language and the provision of a suitable answer for users. Successful providers in this area are Google with Dialogflow, Microsoft with LUIS, IBM with Watson, Amazon with Lex and Rasa with their open source solution. This form of system usually covers only a part of a Conversational Platform and is also called NLP service. Many of these services are SaaS (Software as a Service) solutions that are provided in conjunction with our own cloud solutions. [1]

Integrations and Middleware

As technology evolves, companies demand standardized and flexible integrations. On the one hand, simple and intelligent integrations in messenger interfaces such as WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, Slack, Microsoft Teams, SMS and web chats are made possible. On the other hand, standardized integrations in enterprise software such as SAP, Salesforce, Hubspot, G Suite, Outlook, Workday, etc. are becoming increasingly important in order to optimally integrate chatbots into the business processes of companies. Currently, providers such as Kore.AI and BOTfriends to this functional area. It is assumed that the market for Conversational Platforms will be divided in the future into providers that focus predominantly on Natural Language Processing and providers that focus on simple integration options and functionalities for the operation of chatbots. [1]

Functions in the Chatbot Operations

Complementary functionalities, which make it possible to successfully operate, maintain and constantly develop chatbots in companies, are becoming more and more important. The reason for this is that the task of running chatbots is gradually being shifted away from IT departments to individual departments. This requires simple and intuitive user interfaces.

Some examples of these functionalities are:

  • Human handover tools that allow chatbots and human agents to work together to answer customer queries.
  • Simple Conversation Editor systems, which allow IT laymen to easily customize the content of chatbots.
  • Analytics Tools to measure the performance of chatbots and better tailor content to customer needs.
  • Training tools to constantly increase the knowledge base of chatbots so that they can provide appropriate answers to more requests.
  • Libraries of pre-built intents (questions and answers) and processes for a wide variety of applications and industries, enabling you to create chatbots very quickly and easily.

Scalability and Flexibility

To build a holistic, scalable and sustainable Conversational AI platform, many companies are currently developing their own Conversational Middleware platforms. These make it possible to connect various services and software systems in such a way that all necessary functional areas are sufficiently covered and the services used can be easily exchanged. With this approach, companies will be able to integrate new and better performing services into their chatbot architecture in the future. Outdated and cost-intensive services can thus be eliminated. In this way, companies always stay up to date. At the moment, technology providers are also emerging that offer Conversational Middleware platforms as a product. [1]

> Back to the BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

Sources

[1] https://www.gartner.com/en/documents/3879492

Conversational AI Platform

-> zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki

Conversational AI Platforms, auch Conversational Platform, Conversational Middleware genannt, sind Softwaresysteme mit dessen Hilfe sich Chatbots, Virtual Assistants und Conversational User Interfaces für unterschiedlichste Anwendungsfälle erstellen und betreiben lassen. Weiterhin ermöglichen sie Integration in Chat Interfaces wie Messenger Dienste, Soziale Medien, SMS und Chats auf Webseiten. Eine Conversational Platform verfügt über meist eine Entwicklerschnittstelle (API), sodass Dritte die Plattform um eigene Anpassungen erweitern können. [1]

Die Begriffe Conversational AI Platform und Conversational Platform sind wissenschaftlich nicht klar definiert. Vielmehr handelt es sich um Services bzw. Plattformen, welche Natural Language Processing (NLP) als Basistechnologie verwenden und dadurch Conversational Interfaces verschiedenster Art zu realisierbar machen.

 

Funktionsbereiche

Um Unternehmen zu ermöglichen Chatbots zu entwickeln, erfolgreich zu betreiben und stetig an die Bedürfnisse der Nutzer anzupassen, muss eine geeignete Conversational Platform viele verschiedene Funktionsbereiche abdecken. Hierbei handelt es sich um die Verarbeitung von natürlicher Sprache, verschiedenste Integrationsmöglichkeiten und Operations Funktionalitäten. Eine geläufige Architektur der aktuellen Conversational Platforms ist in der nachfolgenden Abbildung dargestellt. [1]

Conversational AI Platform

Quelle: Gartner – Market Guide for Conversational Platforms [1]

Verarbeitung natürlicher Sprache

Aktuell fokussieren sich die Conversational AI Platform Anbieter auf den Funktionsbereich NLP und somit auf die Interpretation und Verarbeitung von natürlicher Sprache und der Bereitstellung einer geeigneten Antwort für die Nutzer. Erfolgreiche Anbieter in diesem Bereich sind Google mit Dialogflow, Microsoft mit LUIS, IBM mit Watson, Amazon mit Lex und Rasa mit ihrer Open Source Lösung. Diese Form von Systemen deckt meist nur einen Teilbereich einer Conversational Platform ab und werden auch als NLP-Service bezeichnet. Bei vielen dieser Services handelt es sich um SaaS (Software as a Service) Lösungen, die in Verbindung mit den eigenen Cloud Lösungen zur Verfügung gestellt werden. [1]

Integrationen und Middleware

Mit fortschreitender Entwicklung der Technologie verlangen Unternehmen nach standardisierten und flexiblen Integrationen. Hierbei werden zum einen einfache und intelligente Integrationen in Messenger Interfaces wie WhatsApp, Facebook Messenger, Slack, Microsoft Teams, SMS und Webchats ermöglicht. Zum Anderen werden standardisierte Integrationen in Unternehmenssoftware wie SAP, Salesforce, Hubspot, G Suite, Outlook, Workday, etc. immer wichtiger, um Chatbots optimal in die Geschäftsprozesse der Unternehmen einzubinden. Aktuell fokussieren sich Anbieter wie Kore.AI und BOTfriends auf diesen Funktionsbereich. Es wird davon ausgegangen, dass sich der Markt für Conversational Platforms zukünftig in Anbieter aufteilen wird, welche sich überwiegend auf Natural Language Processing fokussieren und Anbieter die ihren Schwerpunkt auf einfache Integrationsmöglichkeiten und Funktionalitäten für den Betrieb (Operations) von Chatbots legen werden. [1]

Funktionen in der Chatbot Operations

Ergänzende Funktionalitäten, welche es ermöglichen Chatbots in Unternehmen erfolgreich zu betreiben, zu warten und ständig weiter zu entwickeln, werden immer wichtiger. Der Grund hierfür ist, dass die Aufgabe Chatbots zu betreiben nach und nach weg von den IT-Abteilungen hin zu einzelnen Fachabteilungen verlagert wird. Dies macht einfach und intuitiv bedienbaren Benutzeroberflächen erforderlich.

Einige Beispiele für diese Funktionalitäten sind:

  • Human Handover Tools, welche es ermöglichen, dass Chatbots und menschliche Agenten gemeinsam Kundenanfragen beantworten.
  • Einfache Conversation Editor Systeme, welche es IT-Laien ermöglichen die Inhalte von Chatbots einfach anzupassen.
  • Analytics Tools, um die Performance von Chatbots zu messen und die Inhalte besser an die Bedürfnisse der Kunden anzupassen.
  • Trainings Tools um die Wissensbasis der Chatbots ständig zu steigern, sodass diese auf mehr Anfragen geeignete Antworten liefern können.
  • Bibliotheken mit vorgefertigten Intents (Fragen und Antworten) und Prozessen für unterschiedlichste Anwendungsbereiche und Branchen, welche es ermöglichen Chatbots sehr schnell und einfach zu erstellen.

Skalierbarkeit und Flexibilität

Um eine ganzheitliche, skalierbare und langfristig überlebensfähige Conversational AI Platform aufzubauen, entwickeln viele Firmen aktuell eigene Conversational Middleware Plattformen. Diese ermöglichen verschiedenste Services und Softwaresysteme so zu verbinden, dass alle nötigen Funktionsbereiche ausreichend abgedeckt werden und die genutzten Services einfach ausgetauscht werden können. Mit diesem Vorgehen haben Unternehmen zukünftig die Möglichkeit neue und besser performende Services in ihre Chatbot Architektur zu integrieren. Überholte und zu kostenintensive Services können damit eliminiert werden. So bleiben Unternehmen stets auf dem aktuellen Stand. Momentan entstehen auch Technologieanbieter, die Conversational Middleware Plattformen als Produkt anbieten. [1]

> Zurück zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki

Quellen

[1] https://www.gartner.com/en/documents/3879492