Rasa

-> to BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

Rasa is a Conversational AI Platform, which provides open source software to create Contextual AI Assistants and Chatbots with the Rasa Stack. In addition to the free Rasa Stack, there is also the Rasa Platform. This also relies on the Rasa Stack, but offers enterprise customers additional features such as a user interface with functionalities such as the Training Data, Admin, Conversations and Models API. Rasa is developed by the eponymous start up with headquarters in Berlin, and there are over 300 contributors who bring Rasa forward in the open source sense. [1][2]

Structure of the Rasa Stack

The Rasa Stack will be installed in Rasa NLU and Rasa Core divided. These are designed in such a way that they can be used completely independently of each other. This allows only part of the architecture to be built on Rasa and additional services to be integrated. Despite this fact, the two components are very well matched to each other and are therefore quickly configured. The Rasa NLU takes over the tasks of the intent Recognition and Entity Extraction, Rasa Core on the other hand, the complete session management, Context handling and bot responses. [3]

Advantages and disadvantages of Rasa

The first thing to address is the advantage of open source thinking. On the one hand, you are not dependent on paid licenses, and on the other hand, a very high use case-specific configuration is possible by viewing the entire source code. For example, industry-specific terms such as "cash" and "balance", which have the same meaning in the banking environment, but generally need to be distinguished, can be better represented in a chatbot. Of course, this also results in the fact that one has to deal with it more intensively in order to get an optimal solution when comparing it with finished solutions such as Dialogflow from Google or LUIS from Microsoft.
In addition to ready-to-configure solutions, they also offer hosting of the service. Because unlike these cloud solutions, Rasa On Premise runs. This gives you complete control over the data generated by the chatbot, but a powerful server must also be made available. Another advantage is the possibility to use Rasa completely offline. Thus the use in offline systems, for example IoT devices, is convertible. [4]

> Back to the BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

Sources

[1] https://www.gartner.com/en/documents/3879492
[2] https://rasa.com/about
[3] https://rasa.com/docs/
[4] https://rasa.com/docs/

Rasa

Rasa ist eine Conversational AI Platform, welche mit dem Rasa Stack eine Open-Source Software zur Verfügung stellt, um contextual AI assistants und Chatbots zu erstellen. Neben dem kostenfreien Rasa Stack, gibt es außerdem die Rasa Platform. Diese setzt ebenso auf den Rasa Stack, bietet allerdings für Enterprise-Kunden zusätzliche Features, wie ein User-Interface mit Funktionalitäten wie die Training Data, Admin, Conversations  und Models API. Entwickelt wird Rasa vom gleichnamigen Start up mit Hauptsitz in Berlin, zudem gibt es über 300 Contributors, welche Rasa im Open-Source Sinn voran bringen.[1][2]

Aufbau des Rasa Stack

Der Rasa Stack wird in Rasa NLU und Rasa Core aufgeteilt. Diese sind so aufgebaut, dass sie vollständig unabhängig voneinander eingesetzt werden können. So besteht die Möglichkeit, nur einen Teil der Architektur auf Rasa aufzubauen und zusätzlich weitere Services mit einzubinden. Trotz dieser Tatsache sind die beiden Komponenten sehr gut aufeinander abgestimmt und sind deshalb schnell konfiguriert. Dabei übernimmt die Rasa NLU, die Aufgaben Intent Recognition und Entity Extraction, Rasa Core dagegen, das komplette Session Management, Context-Handling und Bot-Responses.[3]

Vor- und Nachteile von Rasa

Dabei muss als Erstes der Vorteil des Open-Source Gedanken angesprochen werden. Zu einem ist man dadurch nicht auf kostenpflichtige Lizenzen angewiesen, des Weiteren ist durch die Einsicht des gesamten Quellcodes eine sehr hohe use case-spezifische Konfiguration möglich. Zum Beispiel lassen sich branchenspezifische Begriffe wie “cash” und “balance”, welche im Bankenumfeld dieselbe Bedeutung haben, im Allgemeinen, aber doch unterschieden werden müssen, deutlich besser in einem Chatbots abbilden. Natürlich resultiert daraus auch, dass man sich intensiver beschäftigen muss, um eine optimale Lösung zu bekommen, wenn man es mit fertigen Lösung wie Dialogflow von Google oder LUIS von Microsoft vergleicht.
Diese bieten neben fertig konfigurierten Lösungen auch gleich das Hosting des Services an. Denn anders als diese Cloud-Lösungen läuft Rasa On Premise. Damit verfügt man zwar auch über die komplette Kontrolle der Daten, die der Chatbot generiert, allerdings muss auch ein leistungsfähiger Server zur Verfügung gestellt werden. Ein weiterer Vorteil ist die Möglichkeit Rasa vollständig Offline zu nutzen. So ist der Einsatz in Offline System, zum Beispiel IoT Geräten, umsetzbar.[4]

> Zurück zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki

Quellen

[1] https://www.gartner.com/en/documents/3879492
[2] https://rasa.com/about
[3] https://rasa.com/docs/
[4] https://rasa.com/docs/