RCS - Rich Communication Services

-> to BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

Rich Communication Services (RCS) is a protocol of mobile operators and is driven by GSMA, the industry association of international mobile operators.[1]

RCS and Chatbots

RCS Business Messaging is a further development of mobile messaging that increases and improves communication between people and companies. It enables companies to increase customer engagement by using business messaging through chatbots and artificial intelligence (AI). It's no longer necessary to download multiple apps, users get direct access to a range of brands and services within the messaging app itself, so they can work with virtual assistants to book flights, buy clothes, make restaurant reservations, and more.[2]

Rich Messaging Chatbot via "SMS"

RCS can be seen as the successor of SMS and MMS. Only with rich messaging content like buttons and videos. RCS will be integrated by Google and Apple into the pre-installed Android Messages[3] App and iMessage [4] App. Thus every Android and iOS user theoretically has access to RCS.

RBM and ABC

Android calls the system RBM (Rich Business Messaging)[5]. Apple calls its service ABC (Apple Business Chat)[6]. To use the systems, however, the RCS transmission protocol must be supported by the respective carrier.

> Back to the BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

Sources

[1] https://www.gsma.com/futurenetworks/rcs/
[2] https://www.gsma.com/futurenetworks/rcs/rcs-business-messaging/
[3] https://messages.google.com/web/authentication
[4] https://support.apple.com/explore/messages
[5] https://jibe.google.com/business-messaging/
[6] https://www.apple.com/ios/business-chat/

RCS – Rich Communication Services

-> zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki

Rich Communication Services (RCS) ist ein Protokoll von Mobilfunkbetreibern und wird von der GSMA, des Industrieverbandes der internationalen Mobilfunkanbieter vorangetrieben.[1]

RCS und Chatbots

RCS Business Messaging ist die Weiterentwicklung von Mobile Messaging, die die Kommunikation zwischen Menschen und Unternehmen erhöht und verbessert. Es bietet Unternehmen die Möglichkeit, ihr Kunden-Engagement zu erhöhen, indem sie Business Messaging mittels Chatbots und künstlicher Intelligenz (KI) nutzen. Es ist nicht mehr notwendig, mehrere Apps herunterzuladen, sondern die Benutzer erhalten direkten Zugriff auf eine Reihe von Marken und Dienstleistungen innerhalb der Messaging-App selbst, so dass sie mit virtuellen Assistenten zusammenarbeiten können, um beispielsweise Flüge zu buchen, Kleidung zu kaufen, Restaurant Reservierungen vorzunehmen und vieles mehr.[2]

Rich Messaging Chatbot per “SMS”

Stark vereinfacht kann RCS als Nachfolger von SMS und MMS betrachtet werden. Nur eben mit Rich Messaging Inhalten wie Buttons und Videos. RCS wird von Google und Apple in die bereits vorinstallierten Android Messages[3] App und iMessage [4] App integriert. Somit verfügt jeder Android und iOS Nutzer theoretisch über einen Zugang zu RCS.

RBM und ABC

Von Android wird das System RBM (Rich Business Messaging)[5]bezeichnet. Apple nennt seinen Dienst ABC (Apple Business Chat)[6]. Für die Nutzung der Systeme muss allerdings das Übertragungsprotokoll RCS vom jeweiligen Carrier unterstützt werden.

> Zurück zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki

Quellen

[1] https://www.gsma.com/futurenetworks/rcs/
[2] https://www.gsma.com/futurenetworks/rcs/rcs-business-messaging/
[3] https://messages.google.com/web/authentication
[4] https://support.apple.com/explore/messages
[5] https://jibe.google.com/business-messaging/
[6] https://www.apple.com/ios/business-chat/