BOTfriends Persona Canvas

The target groups of a chatbot are as diverse as the possible fields of application of artificial intelligence. In order not to lose focus when developing your Virtual Assistant, the BOTfriends Persona Canvas help you to create deep and well defined personas and thus adapt your chatbot even better to future users.

If you know your target group, you can gain a great advantage in design decisions as well as in the development process and increase customer satisfaction. Personas can help your team to focus on real user needs and give personality to a previously anonymous target group. However, their greatest value lies in providing a common communication base.


What are the benefits of BOTfriends Persona Canvas?

The goal of the Persona Canvas is to provide you with a guide or framework on how to design a chatbot that is customized for your target audience. The goal is to create a common basis for your team and to analyze, understand and use the characteristics and needs of future users to their advantage.

The design of a persona is a time-consuming process that can be designed with great attention to detail. The difficulty here is not to lose focus on the essential information and characteristics of the persona. With the help of the Persona Canvas you can use a template to answer various questions about your target group.

 

What is this article about?

In our two-part series we will create a fictitious persona for illustration with the help of the BOTfriends Persona Canvas. The canvas is divided into 10 sections:

Part one:

  • Space for a photo of your persona
  • Demographic data
  • Characteristics - Keywords related to the characteristics of your persona
  • Select appropriate quote
  • Personality - interests, motivation and frustration points

Part 2:

  • Biography & Background Story
  • Values / Goals and Pain Points
  • Technical know-how
  • Day In The Life Model
  • Problems to Be Solved

Each of these sections is explained in more detail and followed by an example.

"With the BOTfriends Persona Canvas we give you a template, with which it is now even easier to create a perfectly tailored persona for your target group."

Step 1: Find a stock photo for your persona

A picture is known to say more than a thousand words. Therefore choose the picture for your persona carefully. It should not appear too posed and should always represent a person who could actually belong to the target group. Stock photos are best suited. However, you can also ask one of your customers if you may use his/her photo. Don't choose a photo of a person you already know, otherwise you will always associate certain characteristics with your persona that may not be representative.

I have chosen this picture for my persona:

pexels.com/photo/
woman-using-a-
sewing-machine-
3738098/

Step 2: Set demographic information for your persona

To breathe life into your persona, we give it a name and set out some demographic data. You can choose any name you like, but make sure that you don't associate certain characteristics with it in advance. Do not give your persona a name of a known person. The demographic data should reflect the target group to be represented.

Step 3: Search for three suitable character traits

The "Characteristics" section is ideal for describing the persona using three keywords. You should make sure that they convey information about the behavior of the persona and are not too generic. Check if they offer an informative added value for the persona. Adjectives such as loving or friendly are much less meaningful, such as committed, careful or conscientious.

Step 4: Choose an appropriate quote that reflects the character of the persona

Our persona now already has a face, a name and also some character traits. To strengthen the image of the character, we will use the keywords in this step to come up with a quote that your persona might have really said. The quote should have something to do with the context, maybe even with the use case. If you have previously used the BOTfriends Chatbot Canvas you can use the Use Case defined there for orientation.

A quotation makes the persona appear more alive and is easier to anticipate in the later development process.

Step 5: Define the interests and motivation of the persona

In the next step we want to address the interests and motivation of our persona. It is important to understand what drives them. For this you can ask yourself what makes the persona happy and what attracts their attention. Furthermore we want to find out what frustrates them and based on this knowledge we want to adapt our chatbot even better to their needs.

Keep in mind that the persona is a single customer, but should be representative of a type of interaction with your chatbot. So if, as in our example, it is about food, a persona should be created for the target group of "conscious nutrition" and a persona for the target group of "casual customers" who prefer fast food.

In addition, we would like to discuss the motivation from the private life as well as the working world of the persona. If the chatbot is to be used in a professional context, the motivation for using the service can also be the focus here. In this section it is especially important that the information is based on real data and that you do not just make guesses. When discussing with your team, you should be careful not to get caught up in details and not to lose sight of the context of the persona's use case.

In the next part we develop a short background story, take a closer look at the persona's everyday life and consider their competencies. We also define the core - their values, goals and pain points.

BOTfriends Persona Canvas

Die Zielgruppen eines Chatbots sind so vielfältig, wie die möglichen Einsatzgebiete von künstlicher Intelligenz. Um bei der Entwicklung deines Virtual Assistants nicht den Fokus zu verlieren, soll dir das BOTfriends Persona Canvas dabei helfen, tiefgreifende und ausgearbeitete Personas zu erstellen und deinen Chatbot dadurch noch besser an zukünftige Nutzer:innen anzupassen.

Wer seine Zielgruppe kennt, kann sich sowohl bei Designentscheidungen, als auch im Entwicklungsprozess einen großen Vorteil verschaffen und die Kundenzufriedenheit steigern. Personas können deinem Team helfen, sich auf echte User Needs zu fokussieren und der bisher anonymen Zielgruppe eine Persönlichkeit verleihen. Ihr größter Wert liegt jedoch in der Bereitstellung einer gemeinsamen Kommunikationsbasis.

Know your target audience with the BOTfriends Persona Canvas


Welchen Nutzen bietet mir das BOTfriends Persona Canvas?

Das Ziel des Persona Canvas ist es, dir einen Leitfaden oder Framework bereitzustellen, wie du einen an deine Zielgruppe angepassten Chatbot entwerfen kannst. Hierfür gilt es eine gemeinsame Basis für dein Team zu schaffen und die Eigenschaften und Bedürfnisse der zukünftigen User zu analysieren, zu verstehen und zum Vorteil zu nutzen.

Der Entwurf einer Persona ist ein zeitaufwändiger Prozess, der mit viel Liebe zum Detail gestaltet werden kann. Die Schwierigkeit dabei ist es, nicht den Fokus auf die wesentlichen Informationen und Eigenschaften der Persona zu verlieren. Mit Hilfe des Persona Canvas kannst du anhand eines Templates verschiedene Fragen zu deiner Zielgruppe beantworten.

 

Um was geht es in diesem Beitrag?

Gemeinsam werden in unserer zweiteiligen Serie mit Hilfe des BOTfriends Persona Canvas eine fiktive Persona zur Veranschaulichung erstellen. Das Canvas ist in 10 Bereiche aufgeteilt:

Teil 1:

  • Platz für ein Foto deiner Persona
  • Demographische Daten
  • Characteristics – Schlagwörter zu den Eigenschaften deiner Persona
  • Passendes Zitat auswählen
  • Personality – Interessen, Motivation und Frustrations-Punkte

Teil 2:

  • Biography & Background Story
  • Values / Goals und Pain Points
  • Technical Know How
  • Day In The Life Model
  • Problems to Be Solved

Jeder dieser Abschnitte wird genauer erklärt und im Anschluss mit einem Beispiel ergänzt.

“Mit dem BOTfriends Persona Canvas geben wir dir ein Template an die Hand, mit welchem es nun noch leichter ist, eine perfekt auf deine Zielgruppe zugeschnittene Persona zu gestalten.”

Schritt 1: Suche ein Stock-Foto für deine Persona

Ein Bild sagt bekanntermaßen mehr als tausend Worte. Wähle deshalb das Bild für deine Persona mit Bedacht. Es sollte nicht zu gestellt wirken und immer eine Person verkörpern, welche tatsächlich zur Zielgruppe gehören könnte. Am besten eignen sich Stock-Fotos. Du kannst jedoch auch einen deiner Kunden fragen, ob du sein/ihr Foto verwenden darfst. Wähle kein Foto von einer Person aus, die du bereits kennst, da du sonst im weiteren Verlauf immer bestimmte Eigenschaften mit deiner Persona verknüpfst, die unter Umständen nicht repräsentativ sind.

Ich habe für meine Persona dieses Bild gewählt:

pexels.com/photo/
woman-using-a-
sewing-machine-
3738098/

Schritt 2: Lege demographische Informationen für deine Persona fest

Um deiner Persona Leben einzuhauchen, geben wir ihr einen Namen und legen ein paar demographische Daten fest. Den Namen kannst du beliebig wählen, achte jedoch darauf, dass du nicht schon vorher bestimmte Merkmale mit ihr verknüpfst. Gib deiner Persona keinen Namen einer bekannten Person. Die demografischen Daten sollten die zu repräsentierende Zielgruppe widerspiegeln.

Schritt 3: Suche drei passende Charaktereigenschaften

Der Abschnitt “Characteristics” eignet sich hervorragend dafür, die Persona mit Hilfe von drei Schlagworten zu beschreiben. Hierbei solltest du darauf achten, dass sie Information über das Verhalten der Persona transportieren und nicht zu generisch sind. Überprüfe, ob sie für die Persona einen informativen Mehrwert bieten. Adjektive wie lieb oder freundlich haben deutlich weniger Aussagekraft, wie beispielsweise engagiert, vorsichtig oder gewissenhaft.

Schritt 4: Wähle ein passendes Zitat, das den Charakter der Persona widerspiegelt

Unsere Persona hat jetzt bereits ein Gesicht, einen Namen und auch ein paar Charaktereigenschaften. Um das Bild des Charakters zu festigen, werden wir uns in diesem Schritt auf Basis der Schlagwörter ein Zitat ausdenken, welches deine Persona wirklich gesagt haben könnte. Dabei sollte das Zitat inhaltlich etwas mit dem Kontext, vielleicht sogar mit dem Use Case, zu tun haben. Falls du vorher das BOTfriends Chatbot Canvas ausgefüllt hast, kannst du dich am dort definierten Use Case orientieren.

Durch ein Zitat wirkt die Persona lebendiger und ist im späteren Entwicklungsprozess einfacher zu antizipieren.

Schritt 5: Definiere die Interessen und Motivation der Persona

Im nächsten Schritt wollen wir auf die Interessen und die Motivation unserer Persona eingehen. Es ist wichtig zu verstehen, was sie antreibt. Hierfür kannst du dich fragen, was die Persona glücklich macht und was ihre Aufmerksamkeit gewinnt. Des Weiteren wollen wir herausfinden, was sie frustriert und auf Basis dieser Erkenntnis unseren Chatbot noch besser an die Bedürfnisse anpassen.

Behalte im Kopf dass die Persona zwar ein einzelner Kunde ist, jedoch repräsentativ für eine Art der Interaktion mit deinem Chatbot stehen soll. Geht es also, wie bei unserem Beispiel, um Essen, sollte eine Persona für die Zielgruppe der “bewussten Ernährung” und eine Persona für die Zielgruppe der “Gelegenheitsbesteller”, die Fast Food bevorzugen, erstellt werden.

Außerdem wollen wir hier sowohl auf die Motivation aus dem Privatleben, aber auch der Arbeitswelt der Persona eingehen. Falls der Chatbot in einem professionellen Kontext genutzt werden soll, kann hier auch die Motivation für die Benutzung des Service im Vordergrund stehen. In diesem Abschnitt ist es besonders wichtig, dass die Informationen auf echten Daten basieren und du nicht nur Vermutungen anstellst. Bei der Diskussion mit deinem Team solltest du darauf achten, dass ihr euch nicht in Details verstrickt und den Kontext des Use Cases der Persona nicht aus den Augen verliert.

Im nächsten Teil entwickeln wir eine kurze Background-Story, schauen uns den Alltag der Persona näher an und betrachten ihre Kompetenzen. Außerdem definieren wir das Herzstück – ihre Werte, Ziele und Pain Points.

Know your target audience with the BOTfriends Persona Canvas