Chatbots are becoming more and more popular in many industries, including the pharmaceutical and medical industry. They can make life easier for patients,doctors and employees alike:

For example, patients can be supported before and after treatment. Doctors can find out quickly and at any time of the day about the interactions or other properties of drugs, and sales staff can prepare for customer meetings with the help of a bot.

 

In this blog post we introduce you to 10 chatbots from the pharmaceutical and medical industry:

1. A chatbot for diabetes patients

The Chatbot Sophia from Novo Nordisk is available for diabetes patients on the diabetes portal Cornerstones4Care. It answers patients' questions about nutrition, provides information about the disease and offers advice on a healthy lifestyle.

Within half a year Sophia conducted 11,000 interviews and answered 27,000 questions. The Danish pharmaceutical company decided to use a chatbot after it noticed increased traffic on the website between 11pm and 1am. With the chatbot, website visitors can now be advised outside business hours. 

Chatbot Sophia supports diabetes patients

2. A chatbot helps people with sleep disorders

The Chatbot Nina from Sanofi was introduced for the same reason: The company noticed that a particularly large number of people visited the Team de Nuit's website at three in the morning. Nina was developed for people with mild sleep disorders. The bot is available 24/7 and recommends its users, for example, the sleep mode on the iPhone, which can be used to adjust the brightness of the display.

In order to increase consumer acceptance, the company involved its customers in the development of the chatbot and had them vote on Facebook, for example, whether the chatbot's avatar should be called Tom or Nina:

Chatbot Nina helps sleepless users

3. A virtual assistant as a personal companion for diabetes patients

The virtual assistant Sugarpod from Wellpepper is designed for diabetes patients. Among other things, the bot tracks the user's meals and their blood sugar concentration. It can also be controlled solely by the voice of the users. Furthermore it is able to scan the feet of the patient. This additional function is especially valuable for diabetes patients, because diabetes can lead to damage to vessels and nerves, and here the feet are particularly frequently affected.

4. Current information about Corona through a chatbot

The Corona Chatbot from BOTfriends gives information about Corona: The users can inform themselves about the symptoms of the disease, initial restrictions or testing possibilities.

The BOTfriends Corona Chatbot informs about the latest Corona editions

5. A chatbot as health coach for patients

The Healthily chatbot from Your.md helps the user to inform themselves about various diseases and to keep an eye on their health, mental condition and fitness.

The chatbot informs the user about flu symptoms

6. A chatbot as a personal assistant for anxiety and depression

Woebot was developed to help people with anxiety and depression. He contacts users on daily basis and helps them with exercises to cope better with their everyday life.

Chatbot Woebot helps patients with anxiety and depression

7. A chatbot as a training tool for sales staff

Kebot was developed to train sales employees and to support them after customer meetings. With the help of a questionnaire, employees take notes after a sales meeting and evaluate themselves and their performance. By using Conversational AI, the questionnaire can be filled out via chat as well as via voice instructions. This makes everyday life easier for the sales staff, as they can fill in the questionnaire as they are on the way to the next customer.

All entered data is stored in real time in the CRM system of Roche Pharma and forms the basis for training materials and further sales talks. The employees get a personal access. This allows the training of the employees to be personalized and to prepare them as individually as possible for upcoming sales talks.

8. A chatbot as a consultant for doctors

The Safedrugbot chatbot is available to doctors via the messaging service Telegram. It supports them by providing the necessary information for prescribing medication to expecting and nursing mothers.

The Safedrugbot chatbot advises doctors on the care of expectant and nursing mothers.

9. Increasing patient loyalty through a chatbot

Northwell Health, a non-profit network for integrated health care, offers a personalized chatbot for patients at Long Island Jewish Medical Center and Southside Hospital. It is designed to reduce the "no-show" rate for patients with an appointment for a colonoscopy examination. The procedure is used for colon cancer screening. However, patients often do not show up, since they fear that the examination will be very unpleasant. The personalized chatbot is designed to provide information to reduce anxiety and remind patients of their appointment. Access to the program is assigned to each patient after registration.

The chatbot also helps website users to find the right doctor, book an appointment and provides information about Corona.

The Northwell chatbot helps patients find the right doctors.

10. A chatbot as a consultant for patients

The Chatbot Ada carries out an initial preliminary diagnosis with the users by asking detailed questions about symptoms and then assigning them to possible clinical pictures. 

Afterwards, he gives recommendations for further action and offers the user the possibility to record the course of the disease or an improvement or worsening of the symptoms.

The chatbot Ada asks users detailed questions about symptoms.

As you can see, the applications for chatbots in the pharmaceutical and medical industry are manifold. If you would like to know more about the implementation of chatbot projects, download our white paper "No more POC Chatbots". Here you will learn what the most common mistakes are when planning Conversational AI projects and how to avoid them.

Chatbots halten in immer mehr Branchen Einzug, so auch in der Pharma –  und Medizinbranche. Sie können sowohl Patienten, Ärzten als auch Mitarbeitern von Unternehmen ihren Alltag erleichtern:

So können Patient:innen zum Beispiel vor und nach Behandlungen unterstützt werden. Ärzt:innen können sich schnell und zu jeder Tageszeit über die Wechselwirkungen oder andere Eigenschaften von Medikamenten informieren und Sales Mitarbeiter:innen können sich mithilfe eines Bots auf Kundengespräche vorbereiten.

 

In diesem Blogbeitrag stellen wir dir 10 Chatbots aus der Pharma- und Medizinbranche vor:

1. Ein Chatbot für Diabetes Patienten

Der Chatbot Sophia von Novo Nordisk steht Diabetes Patient:innen über das Diabetes Portal Cornerstones4Care zur Verfügung. Sie beantwortet Patienten Fragen zur Ernährung, klärt über die Krankheit auf und gibt Hilfestellungen zu einem gesunden Lebensstil.

Innerhalb eines halben Jahres führte Sophia 11.000 Gespräche und beantwortete 27.000 Fragen. Das dänische Pharmaunternehmen entschied sich einen Chatbot einzusetzen, nachdem es erhöhten Traffic auf der Website zwischen 23h und ein Uhr morgens feststellte. Mit dem Chatbot können Website Besucher:innen nun auch außerhalb der Geschäftszeiten beraten werden. 

Chatbot Sophia unterstützt Diabetes Patienten

2. Mit einem Chatbot gegen Schlafstörungen

Der Chatbot Nina stammt aus dem Hause Sanofi und wurde aus dem gleichen Grund eingeführt: Das Unternehmen stellte fest, dass um drei Uhr morgens besonders viele Personen die Website von Team de Nuit besuchten. Nina wurde für Menschen mit leichten Schlafstörungen entwickelt. Der Bot ist 24/7 erreichbar und empfiehlt seinen Nutzer:innen beispielsweise den Schlafmodus am iPhone, mit dem die Helligkeit des Displays angepasst werden kann.

Um die Akzeptanz der Verbraucher:innen zu erhöhen, involvierte das Unternehmen seine Kund:innen bei der Entwicklung des Chatbots und ließ sie zum Beispiel auf Facebook darüber abstimmen, ob der Avatar des Chatbot Tom oder Nina heißen soll:

Chatbot Nina hilft schlaflosen Nutzern

3. Ein virtueller Assistent als persönlicher Begleiter von Diabetes Patienten

Der virtuelle Assistent Sugarpod von Wellpepper richtet sich an Diabetes-Patient:innen. Der Bot trackt unter anderem die Mahlzeiten der Nutzer:innen und deren Blutzuckerkonzentration. Außerdem ist er allein durch die Stimme der Nutzer:innen steuerbar. Darüber hinaus ist er in der Lage die Füße der Patient:innen zu scannen. Diese Zusatzfunktion ist für Diabetespatient:innen besonders wertvoll, da Diabetes zu Schäden an Gefäßen und Nerven führen kann und hier besonders häufig die Füße betroffen sind.

4. Aktuelle Informationen zu Corona durch einen Chatbot

Der Corona Chatbot von BOTfriends gibt Auskünfte zu Corona: Die Nutzer:innen können sich über die Symptome der Krankheit, Ausgangsbeschränkungen oder Testmöglichkeiten informieren.

Der BOTfriends Corona Chatbot informiert über die neuesten Corona Auflagen

5. Ein Chatbot als Gesundheitscoach für Patient:innen

Der Chatbot Healthily von Your.md hilft den Nutzer:innen sich zu verschiedenen Krankheitsbilder zu informieren und  ihre Gesundheit, psychische Verfassung und Fitness im Auge zu behalten.

Der Chatbot informiert den Nutzer über Grippesymptome

6. Ein Chatbot als persönlicher Helfer bei Ängste und Depressionen

Woebot wurde entwickelt, um Menschen mit Ängsten und Depressionen zu helfen. Er meldet sich auf Wunsch täglich bei den Nutzer:innen und hilft ihnen mit Übungen mit ihrem Alltag besser zurechtzukommen.

Chatbot Woebot hilft Patienten bei Ängsten und Depressionen

7. Ein Chatbot als Trainingstool für Sales Mitarbeiter

Kebot wurde entwickelt, um Sales Mitarbeiter:innen zu trainieren und nach Kundengesprächen zu unterstützen. Mithilfe eines Fragebogens können die Mitarbeiter:innen nach einem Sales Gespräch Notizen verfassen und sich und ihre Performance selber bewerten. Durch den Einsatz von Conversational AI kann der Fragebogen sowohl über Chat als auch über Sprachanweisungen ausgefüllt werden. Dies erleichtert den Sales Mitarbeiter:innen ihren Alltag, da sie den Fragebogen unterwegs auf dem Weg zum nächsten Kund:innen ausfüllen können.

Alle eingegebenen Daten werden in Echtzeit im CRM System von Roche Pharma gespeichert und bilden die Grundlage für Trainingsmaterialien und weitere Verkaufsgespräche. Die Mitarbeiter:innen bekommen einen persönlichen Zugang. Dadurch kann das Training der Mitarbeiter:innen personalisiert werden und diese so individuell wie möglich für kommende Sales Gespräche vorbereitet werden.

8. Ein Chatbot als Berater für Ärzte

Der Chatbot Safedrugbot steht Ärzt:innen über den Messaging Service Telegram zur Verfügung. Er unterstützt sie, indem er die notwendigen Informationen zum Verschreiben von Medikamenten an werdende und stillende Mütter zur Verfügung stellt.

Der Chatbot Safedrugbot berät Ärzte bei der Betreuung von werdenden und stillenden Müttern.

9. Patientenbindung durch einen Chatbot

Northwell Health, gemeinnütziges Netzwerk für integrierte Gesundheitsvesorgung, bietet einen personalisierten Chatbot für Patient:innen des Long Island Jewish  Medical Center und des Southside Hospital an. Er wurde entwickelt um die „No-Show“-Rate für Patient:innen mit einem Termin für eine Koloskopie Untersuchung reduzieren. Das Verfahren wird zur Vorsorge bei  Darmkrebs genutzt. Jedoch erschienen Patient:innen oft aus Sorge vor der unangenehmen Untersuchung nicht. Der personalisierte Chatbot soll mit Informationen Ängste abbauen und die Patient:innen an ihren Termin erinnern. Der Zugang zu dem Programm wird jedem Patienten nach Registrierung zugeteilt.

Darüber hinaus hilft der Chatbot den Nutzern der Website, den richtigen Arzt zu finden, einen Termin zu buchen und informiert über Corona.

Der Chatbot von Northwell hilft Patienten die richtigen Ärzte zu finden.

10. Ein Chatbot als Berater für Patienten

Der Chatbot Ada führt mit den Nutzer:innen eine erste vorläufige Diagnose durch, indem er detailliert Fragen zu Symptomen stellt und diese dann möglichen Krankheitsbildern zuordnet. 

Danach gibt er Empfehlungen zum weiteren Vorgehen und bietet den Nutzer:innen die Möglichkeit den Krankheitsverlauf oder eine Verbesserung oder Verschlechterung der Symptome zu protokollieren.

Der Chatbot Ada stellt den Nutzern detaillierte Fragen zu Symptomen.

Wie du siehst sind die Anwendungsmöglichkeiten für Chatbots in der Pharma- und Medizinbranche vielfältig. Wenn du mehr zu der Umsetzung von Chatbot – Projekten wissen möchtest, dann hol dir unser White Paper „No more POC Chatbots“. Hier erfährst du was die häufigsten Fehler bei der Planung von Conversational AI – Projekten sind und wie du sie umgehen kannst.