Chatbot

-> to BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

Chatbots are technologies or services that are available on web sites or in Messenger Services and can answer user queries automatically with the help of artificial intelligence. The term chatbot can be broken down into two words. On the one hand it consists of the English word "Chat" (= conversation) and on the other hand of "bot" (an abbreviation of "Robot", which stands for the "Automat").

What's the difference to normal bots?

The difference between chatbots and bots is that in computer science bots are described as independently running programs that provide their services without human objection. They only have to be initiated once at the beginning. 1] In some cases, these programs are even malicious and can be traced back to botnets that use large Denial of Service (DoS) attacks coordinate. 2] In general, however, chatbots are defined as computer programs designed to simulate conversations with people over the Internet. A chatbot thus enables the conversation between a person and a machine.

artificial intelligence

This requires the use of artificial intelligence in various forms. This communication is only possible via detours using a programming language understood by the computer. The computer can process human language using Natural Language Processing (NLP) by interpreting what is said and deriving the user's intention from it. The intention is then translated into an action that is executed independently by the computer. This action can be either the answer to a question of the user or the action of an action. To realize this, a knowledge base with answers and actions must be stored behind the NLP.

Integration and the future

Chatbots can also be integrated with language assistants such as Google Home, Amazon Alexa, Siri, or Microsoft Cortana, which perform requests based on voice and are also referred to as Intelligent Personal Assistants (IPA). It is suspected that chatbots will replace both websites and apps in the future. Large technology companies such as Google, Facebook and Microsoft offer systems that help chatbots understand and interpret user input. These platforms like Google with Dialog flowFacebook with wit.ai, IBM with Watson or Microsoft with LUIS are made available to the masses as web services and open the doors to the use of advanced machine learning systems. [1]

 

> Back to the BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

Sources

1] Smolinski et al. (2017): Innovations and innovation management in the financial sector, Wiesbaden: Springer.
2] Radziwill, Nicole and Benton, Morgan (2017): Evaluating Quality of Chatbots and Intelligent Conversational Agents, in: Software Quality Professional, vol. 19, no. 3.

Chatbot

-> zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki

Unter Chatbots versteht man Technologien oder Services, die auf Webseiten oder in Messenger Dienste integriert werden und mit Hilfe von künstlicher Intelligenz Nutzeranfragen automatisiert beantworten können. Der Begriff Chatbot lässt sich in zwei Wörter aufbrechen. Zum einen setzt es sich aus dem englischen Wort „Chat“ (=Gespräch) und zum anderen aus „bot“ (eine Abkürzung von „Robot“, was für den „Automat“ steht) zusammen.

Was ist der Unterschied zu normalen Bots?

Der Unterschied von Chatbots zu Bots ist, dass in der Informatik Bots als selbstständig laufende Programme, die ihre Dienste ohne menschlichen Einwand erbringen, beschrieben werden. Sie müssen nur zu Beginn einmal initiiert werden. [1] In manchen Fällen sind diese Programme sogar bösartig und können auf Botnetze zurückgeführt werden, die große Denial of Service (DoS)-Angriffe koordinieren. [2] Generell werden Chatbots aber als Computer Programme definiert, welche dafür entwickelt wurden, Konversationen mit Menschen über das Internet zu simulieren. Ein Chatbot ermöglicht also die Unterhaltung zwischen einem Menschen und einer Maschine.

Artificial Intelligence

Dafür ist der Einsatz von künstlicher Intelligenz in unterschiedlichen Ausprägungen nötig. Diese Kommunikation ist nur über Umwegen mittels einer Programmiersprache, die vom Computer verstanden wird, möglich. Denn der Computer kann die menschliche Sprache unter Verwendung von sogenanntem Natural Language Processing (NLP) verarbeiten, indem der Computer das Gesagte interpretiert und daraus die Absicht des Nutzers ableitet. Die Intention wird im Anschluss in eine Aktion übersetzt, die vom Rechner eigenständig ausgeführt wird. Diese Aktion kann entweder die Antwort auf eine Frage des Users sein oder das Tätigen einer Aktion. Um das zu realisieren, muss hinter dem NLP eine Wissensbank mit Antworten und Aktionen hinterlegt werden.

Integration und Zukunft

Chatbots können auch in Sprachassistenten wie Google Home, Amazon Alexa, Siri oder Microsoft Cortana integriert werden, welche die Anfragen sprachbasiert ausführen und auch als Intelligent Personal Assistant (IPA) bezeichnet werden. Es wird vermutet, dass Chatbots sowohl Webseiten als auch Apps in Zukunft ersetzen werden. Denn die großen Technologie Konzerne wie Google, Facebook und Microsoft bieten Systeme an, die Chatbots verhelfen User Eingaben zu verstehen und zu interpretieren. Diese Plattformen wie Google mit Dialogflow, Facebook mit wit.ai, IBM mit Watson oder Microsoft mit LUIS werden für die breite Masse öffentlich als Web-Service zugänglich gemacht und öffnen somit die Türen zur Nutzung weit entwickelter Machine Learning Systeme. [1]

 

> Zurück zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki

Quellen

[1] Smolinski et al. (2017): Innovationen und Innovationsmanagement in der Finanzbranche, Wiesbaden: Springer.
[2] Radziwill, Nicole und Benton, Morgan (2017): Evaluating Quality of Chatbots and Intelligent Conversational Agents, in: Software Quality Professional, Jg. 19, Nr. 3.