Chatbot Controller

-> to BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

A Chatbot Controller forms the heart of a chatbots and is used to create, configure and manage a chatbot and to integrate various systems and services. However, the term chatbot controller is not uniformly defined. Sometimes the functionality of chatbot controllers is also covered by the so called Conversational AI platforms.

architecture

The following architecture of the company BOTfriends shows how a Chatbot Controller can be related to other systems. The controller is located in the center of the figure.

Architecture of a controller

The Chatbot Controller enables the communication with connectorNLP Service, Analytics Tool and contains further functions. Furthermore the controller offers the possibility to connect further systems. A component for the chatbot logic is also included.

Connected systems and services 

In the following, the systems and services that are linked to the Chatbot Controller are explained:

  • Admin Interface

The Admin Interface is an interface with which various parameters of the controller can be configured. Among other things, it is possible to create user accounts and manage projects.

  • NLP service

An NLP service enables Natural Language Processing and thus the processing and output of natural language. Thus on the one hand the intention and/or the request of the user is determined from the entered natural language and depending on the Chatbot logic the suitable answer is given.

  • channels

This refers to all channels through which the user enters data and the corresponding output of the chatbot is displayed. Exemplary channels would be the Facebook Messenger or a website chat.

  • connector

The task of the connector is to translate the different protocols in which conversations are output from the different channels. After the interpretation by the chatbot, the conversation is again transferred to the connector in a uniform format and translated accordingly for the respective channels.

  • analytics

It is also possible to integrate so-called analytics tools into a chatbot. These enable you to analyze and optimize conversation data.

  • Additional Features

Depending on the use case of the chatbot and partly also depending on the branch in which the chatbot is used, it sometimes makes sense to connect functions such as multilingualism and other systems such as ERPs (Enterprise Resource Planning) and CRMs (Customer Relationship Management) to the chatbot.

> Back to the BOTwiki - The Chatbot Wiki

Chatbot Controller

-> zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki

Ein Chatbot Controller bildet das Herzstück eines Chatbots und wird dafür verwendet einen Chatbot zu erstellen, zu konfigurieren, zu verwalten und verschiedenste Systeme und Services einzubinden. Der Begriff Chatbot Controller ist jedoch nicht einheitlich definiert. Teilweise wird der Funktionsumfang von Chatbot Controllern auch von den sogenannten Conversational AI Plattformen abgedeckt.

Architektur

Die nachfolgende Architektur des Unternehmens BOTfriends zeigt, wie ein Chatbot Controller mit anderen Systemen in Beziehung stehen kann. Der Controller befindet sich hierbei im Zentrum der Abbildung.

Architektur eines Controllers

Der Chatbot Controller ermöglicht die Kommunikation mit Connector, NLP-Service, Analytics Tool und beinhaltet weitere Funktionen. Weiterhin bietet der Controller die Möglichkeit weitere Systeme anzubinden. Eine Komponente für die Chatbot Logik ist ebenfalls enthalten.

Angebundene Systeme und Services 

Nachfolgend werden die Systeme und Services erläutert, die mit dem Chatbot Controller verknüpft sind:

  • Admin Interface

Das Admin Interface ist eine Oberfläche, mit welcher verschiedene Parameter des Controllers konfiguriert werden können. Es ist unter anderem möglich Nutzerkonten anzulegen und Projekte zu verwalten.

  • NLP-Service

Ein NLP-Service ermöglicht das Natural Language Processing und somit die Verarbeitung und Ausgabe von natürlicher Sprache. Somit wird zum einen aus der eingegebenen natürlichen Sprache die Absicht bzw. das Anliegen des Nutzers ermittelt und abhängig von der Chatbot Logik die passende Antwort ausgegeben.

  • Channels

Darunter werden alle Kanäle verstanden, über welche die Eingabe durch den Nutzer getätigt wird und die entsprechende Ausgabe des Chatbots dargestellt wird. Beispielhafte Kanäle wären der Facebook Messenger oder ein Webseiten Chat.

  • Connector

Die Aufgabe des Connectors ist die Übersetzung der verschiedenen Protokolle in welchen Konversationen von den verschiedenen Kanälen ausgegeben werden. Nach der Interpretation durch den Chatbot wird die Konversation wieder in einem einheitlichen Format an den Connector übergeben und entsprechend für die jeweiligen Kanäle übersetzt.

  • Analytics

Weiterhin besteht die Möglichkeit sogenannte Analytics-Tool in einen Chatbot einzubinden. Diese ermöglichen es, Konversationsdaten zu analysieren und optimieren.

  • Additional Features

Abhängig von dem Anwendungsfall des Chatbots und teilweise auch abhängig von der Branche in der der Chatbot eingesetzt wird, macht es teilweise Sinn Funktionen wie Mehrsprachigkeit und weitere Systeme wie ERPs und CRMs an den Chatbot anzubinden.

> Zurück zum BOTwiki - Das Chatbot Wiki